01
Apr
13

If you get a chance to share your idea with a TED Talk, do it!

TEDxPSU host Rob Andrejewski, March 17, 2013

TEDxPSU host Rob Andrejewski, March 17, 2013

The hip and modern TED Talks  (here’s a link to one of my current favorites) feel like something new, yet speaking effectively in public is not a fad.  Since 776 BC when Greek orators espoused the virtues of the first Olympic Games, people the world over have recognized the value of effective public speech.

That’s one of the reasons, as a professor of communication arts and sciences at Penn State, I was thrilled to share my idea at the recent TEDxPSU conference at Penn State on March 17, 2013.  TED stand for technology, entertainment and design. I want to say that the “E” in TED is doing double-duty, also standing for “energy” because the people surrounding the TEDx event at Penn State have infectious energy for what they are doing.

There are many great aspects to being a TED speaker:  speaking (of course), meeting other speakers, getting your voice heard and being part of something special, but for me, meeting and working with the student organizers and others at Penn State has been the most uplifting and enjoyable aspect of the whole TED experience.   The host of this year’s event, Rob Andrejewski, was incredible at his hosting gig and added a lot to the event.  My speech angel, Lori Bedell, an instructor in the Communication Arts and Sciences department helped me refine my script and feel confident.  She really knows her stuff.
Every one of these vivacious organizers have the markers of greatness:

Optimism

Energy

A Can-do Attitude

Intelligence

Motivation

Professionalism

From the moment student TEDx content director George Hayward came to interview at home on his winter break (!), to his most recent follow-up correspondence, I am reminded that the world is going to be in very good hands when George and the other exuberant TEDx-ers have their way with it!  Check out George’s upbeat vision of life on his blog.   The videos from the March 17th TEDxPSU event will be released in a few weeks, and I can’t wait!  A few us who spoke at Penn State may make it to the general TED Talk site.  Fingers crossed.

So enthused by the TED concept, my CAS 100 H students are giving TED Talks this semester for their persuasive speeches.  Can’t wait to see them!  I think the modern approach has the class more motivated than it would be otherwise to make these presentations.

My point?  If you get a chance to give a TED talk about an idea you want to spread, do it!  And if you do it at Penn State, it will be a fun and unforgettable experience.


3 Responses to “If you get a chance to share your idea with a TED Talk, do it!”


  1. 1 George Hayward
    June 11, 2013 at 1:12 am

    Hey Nikki! This is a great post – and thanks for the shout-out! I took a little break from WordPress but hopefully I’m back for good now🙂 Looking forward to reading more of your stuff! P.S. I hope you’ve seen your recently published TEDTalk on YouTube; it looks fantastic! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0Uo05JoZQo

  2. July 7, 2013 at 3:28 am

    I used to be suggested this website by way of my cousin.

    I am no longer sure whether this post is written by means of him as nobody
    else recognize such detailed approximately my trouble. You’re incredible! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

