29
Jun
10

Janet Reno’s Mother Built The Family’s Home

Summer is here, and with it, a little more flexibility about how I spend my days.  As a college professor, I think every year this time:  this must be Heaven:  going with pleasure from one little (or big) project to the next, at my own pace.  I dash from researching women who could have been president, exercising, contemplating home improvement projects (and actually doing some),  and spending more time with my family.  And I’ve been reading a lot.   Recently, I read a chapter about Janet Reno, the former United States attorney general and I was thinking about the powerful message her mother sent the family when she literally built the family a new home.   Reno said, “she went to the brick mason, she went to the electrician, she talked to them about how to build a house.  She came home and over the next two years she dug the foundation with her own hands with a pick and shovel, laid the blocks, put in the wiring and the plumbing…and that house was a symbol to me that you can do anything you really want to if you work hard enough at it, and it is the right thing to do.”  I was thinking about the powerful role model that anyone doing something he or she  is passionate about and that is the right thing to do offers us.

 One of my favorite lines:  “action beats inaction”, or what Cindy Ratzlaff said at a Power of Women meeting “imperfect action beats inaction.”  She must have seen me on one of my morning runs. 

I’ve always been interested in invention, in speech, the idea of how an utterance came about;  in writing, what made the work take shape, and of course good, old fashion Ben Franklin-type invention.  I think:  “How’d you think of that??”  Invention to me is a spark of an idea, acted upon. 

It’s one of the reasons I urge people to speak about their passions.  You never know who you’ll inspire.  It might even be yourself.


12 Responses to “Janet Reno’s Mother Built The Family’s Home”


  1. August 5, 2013 at 9:44 am

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  2. August 21, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much, However I am going through issues with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having identical RSS problems? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  3. December 25, 2013 at 8:34 am

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your
    useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  4. June 19, 2014 at 10:50 am

    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and
    I was wanting to know your situation; we have created some nice procedures
    and we are looking to swap solutions with others, why
    not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  5. August 4, 2014 at 7:52 am

    Hello, I want to subscribe for this weblog
    to obtain hottest updates, thus where can i do it please help.

  6. August 7, 2014 at 12:25 am

    hi!,I like your writing very much! percentage we
    communicate more approximately your article on AOL? I require
    an expert in this house to resolve my problem. Maybe that is
    you! Looking ahead to look you.

  7. August 13, 2014 at 1:23 am

    Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of
    volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You
    have done a wonderful job!

  8. September 4, 2014 at 1:19 am

    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and
    I’m having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  9. September 8, 2014 at 9:35 am

    I do trust all the ideas you’ve presented on your
    post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work. Still, the
    posts are too short for beginners. May just you please extend them a bit from next time?

    Thanks for the post.

  10. September 12, 2014 at 4:27 am

    Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my weblog thus i got here to go back the choose?.I am attempting to
    to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to make use of a few of your ideas!!

  11. November 21, 2014 at 10:15 am

    Wonderful ԝeb site. Lots of useful information here. I’m
    sending it to a few buԀdies ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thhank you on your effort!


Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

