14
Mar
10

Thanks, Oprah! (JK)

JK is “text talk” for Just Kidding (in case you are over fourteen).  I had fun placing my books near the “Oprah” sign today at the mall.  Seriously, though Oprah, if you are reading this, I could possibly make room for an appearance on your show.  Let’s talk.

No, my books haven’t sold a lot (yet), but they sure have been rewarding to write.  And they have sold a little.   Even more importantly,  Spring Break is officially over and classes begin again this week.  Whenever I have a break of a week or more I miss teaching so much that I have my outfits all picked out  for the week, my lesson plans written and re-written and several emails sent to my students nudging them about things we are doing in class.  Students:  I hope you have worked hard to research your informational speech topics.  Thorough outlines are due this week. (Some students read this blog for extra credit).

Here is some information on an upcoming campus event that looks especially worthwhile:  Thursday, April 1 at 6:00 p.m. at Penn State Lehigh Valley in Center Valley, Dawn Lennon  from Big Picture Consulting and Sybil Stershic will present a panel titled “Stop Fooling Yourself.”  These two business powerhouses will discuss how to position yourself for opportunity.  I don’t think it means moving your books to more opportune locations at bookstores, but it might!  I will be there and I strongly encourage you to attend.  It is becoming increasingly obvious to me that the topic “Stop Fooling Yourself” could be of immense value.


3 Responses to “Thanks, Oprah! (JK)”


  1. 1 Cherry Woodburn
    March 15, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Wish I could be there but, as you know, I can’t. Cherry

  2. March 15, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Sybil and I are thrilled to be coming to PSU, but disappointed that our third panel “amigo” Cherry Woodburn, had another engagement. We’ll do our best to soldier on without her. The business world is a challenging, confusing, and frustating place for college students. There is so much expectation, desire, and need for a worthwhile career and the optimism that we need to keep getting up in the morning. We will do our best to put things in perspective and shine a brighter light on the future. Thanks for your part in making this all happen!

  3. March 15, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    You have so much to offer, Dawn. I know our students will benefit. Thanks in advance for your generosity. Nikki


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

